Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 11th, 2010

Contest

Okay, really quick, head over to Amie Borst’s blog by either clicking on the link to the right of this blog or here and enter in her contest to win a query critique, a bag of dove chocolates (I can probably just stop here), and a new copy of Mocking Jay.

Read Full Post »

I love music. If there was one thing in this world that could rival my passion for writing it would be music.

What I love most about being a writer…I get to listen to music all the time.

So the other day, while I was listening to music ;p, I decided to give my main character a theme song. One that would capture who he is and the struggles he is facing. So what did I choose?

Animal I Have Become by Three Days Grace. This song captures the very essence of my mc, Azrael, and the changes he goes through, both physically and emotionally.

Of course, after choosing a theme song for my mc, I decided I needed one for my leading female character.  She has her own issues to work out, so Azrael’s theme song doesn’t really suit her.  She also encompasses a little more hope than my mc, not much, but a little.  So her theme song is Never Too Late by Three Days Grace.

The theme songs really help give my characters another layer.  I could already see them clearly before, but the songs helped make them a little more real.  I can picture them listening to them, I can see the changes within them and the internal and external conflicts they deal with.  I can also hear the way they parallel one another and the two different worlds they come from, as well as the way the way view they world.

Do you listen to music when write?  Have you ever given your characters a theme song?  If you did what would it be?

Hmmm, now if I could find a theme song for my pencil…maybe it wouldn’t escape me so much ;p

Read Full Post »